Workin’ on your fitness – On Weight Gain and Exercise

I’ve starting this pregnancy out being TOTALLY preoccupied with weight gain. I’m sure this is not uncommon, but I don’t think it is necessarily healthy. Ladies who are with child, be healthy and don’t worry about the scale.

And now I will try to take my own advice.

And share some excerpts from my journal on the subject.

November 9, 2o11

So, about working out.

I read in my pregnancy how-to book that I’m only supposed to gain about 2 pounds in the first trimester. I feel like I gained 2 pounds today.

I think its totally psychological. I am eating things I normally wouldn’t because, heck, my body’s going to go to hell anyway. And I’m not working out as hard because I feel like the embryo might not appreciate me hopping around doing Insanity. So these things naturally combine to a potential weight gain.

Add to that the fact that I do feel kind of bloaty and weird, and you’ve got a recipe for disaster.

So today I did Insanity. It’s the second day in a row I’ve worked out. But I’m fast forwarding through the super jumpy stuff. No suicide jumps for Mamma.

November 10, 2011 

Today, I ate like I was pregnant. That is all.

November 15, 2011

I am also very preoccupied with the proper amount of weight to gain during pregnancy. Evidently 3 pounds is the norm during the first trimester. I think I can do it. After all, we are already more than halfway through! Tomorrow marks the start of the 8th week of Baby Dub’s life.  I think I can make it to 2012 without packing on more than 3 pounds. What’s particularly awesome is that most of that time is the “holidays” when it is expected to gain wait and in fact rude if you don’t. Hooray for the holidays!

December 10, 2011

Today I bought “How to exercise when you’re expecting” at Hastings. I feel like I need some sort of motivation to keep me on track. The problem is that when you’re on a nutrition and exercise regiment and NOT pregnant, you have the nice benefit of losing weight, looking more toned and being able to fit into smaller sizes/hotter clothes. When you’re trying to be healthy during pregnancy, its like, “Well shit I’m still just getting fatter.”

December 27, 2011

… a word on nutrition. I was on a pretty healthy eating kick prior to this whole baby business. You would think that being pregnant would incentivize me to eat even more healthily, but alas, it has become the  scapegoat for satisfying all my deepest darkest cravings. After a good conversation with my esthetician today about the excessive sugar intake me and the Baby Dub have been on throughout the holidays, it has been determined that the nutritious behavior must return. Moderation, yes. But better nutrition, absolutely. Efficiency in my eating so I am getting all the things my little growing bud is in need of, without overdoing it on crazy amounts of calories.

One thought on “Workin’ on your fitness – On Weight Gain and Exercise

  1. […] wasn’t a fan of gaining this much weight, but I wasn’t going to obsess over weight gain either. People, pregnant ladies have baby parts to make. We can’t be bothered with calorie […]

Leave a Reply

