On Exhaustion… I guess it’s real

Until recently, I thought all my pregnant friends were exaggerating just a little bit about how tired you get when you’re pregnant. I get it, our bodies are working extra hard at the moment and it really could take it outta you… but I wasn’t really experiencing this pregnancy exhaustion (to quote a friend, “I’d get so tired my eyeballs would hurt.”) until this week.

I nodded off between that paragraph and this one.

Quite frankly, I think I could sleep the rest of the day.

After lunch, I’m ready for a nap… or a 4 hour siesta.

I get up M-F at 5 am with The Hubs. I do this because I love him, and there’s something about the moral support of having someone else suffer through the 5 am wake up call that I think (hope!) he appreciates.

I also do this because if I stay in bed with an alarm set for 7… I inevitably end up sleeping in until 8.

I start work at 8.

I also do this because I like having the 2.5 hours between sending him off to work and having to head in to the office myself, to accomplish all the little things I like/need/feel obligated to do.

Like Baby Blogging.

Or exercising.

Or sitting on the couch fiddling with my baby apps.

Or making bread dough. I should make some bread dough.

We’ve been on a pretty steady routine of waking up at 5 am for about 2 years now. What happens when you wake up at 5 am Monday-Friday? You wake up at 5 am on the weekends.

Not so in pregnancy.

I could probably count on one hand the number of times I have slept in past 9 in the two years prior to being “with child.” Now, it is almost a guarantee that I’m sleeping in past 9 every weekend day.

And I really love it. Sleeping is awesome. I used to think The Hubs was crazy to want to go to bed at 9:30. Now I’m crawling up the stairs and into bed at 7:45.

I hear that once this Baby arrives we are going to be missing our sleep. That 2 hours straight will be a luxury. “Get all your sleep for the next two years in now, because once your baby is born you won’t be sleeping. At all.”

I’ve got my fingers crossed for a baby like ME. Momma Sue has informed me that the night they brought me home from the hospital, they thought I’d died in my sleep because I was out all night.

That’s what I’m talkin’ about here, people. I want a baby that is as good to me in Babydome as it has been to me in Utero. This baby/pregnancy/going to bed at 7:45 thing isn’t so bad. How hard can parenting…

YAWN,

It used to be that when I was up, I was UP. No turning back, no lying down again, adrenaline pumping, gotta get my workout in, gotta go go go, so much to do today.

The other day I went upstairs to climb on the treadmill for 40 minutes heart-pumping goodness, and instead thought a 5 minute eye-ball rest was in order. I woke up 2 hours later.

I apologize to all the pregnant women who came before me and tried to warn me. I feel ya now. I smell what you were steppin’ in. These days, missing out on one hour of sleep a night is like staying up until 3 am. My Baby’s bones are hardening right now, folks. I am doing important work every waking and non-waking hour. I officially cut myself, and all my pregnant comrades, some freakin’ slack.

Now, for the toughest decision of the day… back to bed for 45 minutes, or get in my preggers lady workout on the treadmill.

Because I’m soooooo sleepy… so tired…. zzzzzzzzzzzzz……..

2 thoughts on “On Exhaustion… I guess it’s real

  1. Momma Sue says:

    Yep – been there done that – it is even tougher the more babies you have – cause the little rug rats that aren’t “in there” DEMAND attention – or you could wake up to your three year old who has absconded with the scissors and cut little snips (many many little snips) out of the pants they are currently wearing – thank God there’s no blood on the scissors or the one year old that has been watching – had better be found quick – “now where could she be hiding……… – Oh Oh – she’s in the toilet getting a drink – that will get your adrenaline going…love you babes – MOMMA SUE

  2. Auntie Nikki says:

    Aw. Weren’t we so cute…

Leave a Reply

