The Best. Thing. Ever.

I only recently started to feel Baby Dub kick. What I used to think about with dread – the onset of The Quickening – has turned into one of my favorite parts of any day. It’s an awesome reminder that things are going on in there, cool things, Baby’s parts are getting stronger… and sometimes it also serves as a heads up that I probably should loosen up the waistband a touch.

Today I decided to see if I could feel her kicks from the outside. And you know what? I can.

This discovery came at a particularly active time for Baby Dub. She must have been getting her cardio in (takes after her momma).

And this discovery came at a time when The Hubs and I were relaxing on the couch watching a little Law & Order (always a good choice).

After a few failed attempts to put his hand in just the right spot so he could feel Baby Dub’s rockin’ uppercut jabs, I started to wonder if the only reason I could feel it from the outside was because I could feel it from the inside… you know, I know what to look for.

She was all over the place, too. She went low, she went high, she did a few side-kicks. It was like Tony Horton doing the kick portion of Kenpo-X in there.

But every time I’d grab the Big Guy’s hand so he could feel our daughter’s strength for himself, she’d take a breather.

And then she went for the roundhouse to the face… er, belly button. Right smack in the middle of the tummy, Baby Dub went all Chuck Norris on her Daddy’s hand.

The look on my husband’s face was the best. thing. ever.

So far.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “The Best. Thing. Ever.

  1. Auntie Dub says:

    Awwww!! *tear*

  2. Just found your blog and am catching up on Baby Dub chronicles. LOVE IT. It’s like I can hear you talking out loud. Love to hear about your preggo journey and for the record (a little, okay a lot late): Congratulations!! xoxo!

    • MommaDub says:

      Thank you, Shawna – it’s a pretty fun journey and I’m having so much fun writing about it! Thanks also for the encouragement – we will need all the well-wishes we can get come July!

  3. […] It’s too much to even contemplate. I can’t wait. It’s going to be the best. Better than the first time he felt her move, which, at the time, was the Best. Thing. Ever. […]

  4. […] Our little bean had a strong, racing heart beat. We didn’t know if we were having a boy or girl, we didn’t know how much hair or what color of eyes Baby Dub would have, we just knew Baby Dub was strong, alive and kicking. […]

  5. […] I captured so much of the experience here in this blog. The first doctor’s appointment. The first time the Hubs felt her kick. Sharing the news we were having a girl. The last hour has been spent […]

Leave a Reply

