Six Months pregnant is a whole lot pregnant

Let me tell you a little story. I realized last week that I am six months pregnant.

That is really pregnant.

That’s legit.

Technically, we are 24 weeks, 6 days pregnant.

But when you talk in weeks to people who haven’t done this pregnancy thing before, it is baffling. Don’t talk in weeks to people who don’t have kids. Nobody likes to do the conversions in their head. They aren’t looking at your baby apps. They don’t know that at six months, your baby is the size of an ear of corn and weighs a bit over a pound.

Here’s a conversation that’s never happened.

“Hey, Erica, how far along are you?”

“Oh, I’m 23 weeks!”

“Oh my, so the fetus is covered in lanugo and can start to recognize the sound of your voice!”

That has never happened. Likely will never happen. People don’t think in weeks.

This is how that conversation goes.

“Hey, Erica, how far along are you?”

“Oh, I’m 23 weeks!”

Long pause while the other person in the conversation does the math in their head and tries to figure out how far that is.

“So… do you know what you’re having yet?”

While I still operate in terms of weeks, I’ve moved to months in talking with anybody who is not my husband or my doctor.

And here’s how that conversation goes now.

“Hey, Erica, how far along are you?”

“Oh, I’m six months pregnant.”

“Wow! You look fantastic!”

That’s more like it.

Since I moved to speaking in months, I have gotten so many compliments on how I look. I will never go back to weeks.

Momma Dub needs the affirmation.

 

2 thoughts on “Six Months pregnant is a whole lot pregnant

  1. momma sue says:

    You make me laugh – I totally understand trying to do the math – so for those of us who “can’t” thank you for your compliance! – Momma Sue

  2. […] like nobody who has ever been pregnant before will understand you if you speak in weeks to them, nobody who hasn’t made it their business to get knocked up ASAP will understand you […]

Leave a Reply

