Things you can always say to a pregnant lady

Today I got cat-called walking from my office to my car.

I’m not sure whether to be terrified, or proud.

My first reaction was “Aww yea, I still got it.”

Then I double-checked to make sure it wasn’t somebody I knew doing me a solid. Not that it would have mattered much. I’ll take it where I can get it!

You can always tell a pregnant lady she’s looking fly, and you will be saying some of the most blessed words that woman has ever heard.

Other things that it doesn’t hurt to say to a pregnant lady:

“You’re 30 weeks? You’re TINY!”

I got that one over the weekend, and I will cling to it for many days to come.

Or how about this one from your husband:

“All your sexy parts are just getting sexier.”

Well-played, Mr. Dub. Well-played.

“What a great outfit!”

I love this one. I am not trying to brag, but I get this one alot, and I don’t think it is because of my innate fashion sense. I get it pretty much any time that I wear anything that embraces the bumplicious rotundness that is my current shape. If I’m hiding my bump, I’m not doing it justice. The key, ladies, is to dress like you’re pregnant and you love it.

And I really do love it.

Remember how I told you about pregnant lady worship? My darling friend told me once that she loved being pregnant because, quote, “People worship you when you’re pregnant.” Now, I haven’t experienced any blatant worship, but I will say this, I do love being pregnant even without the worship.

Every day is a new milestone, a day closer to meeting Baby Dub, and let’s face it, a chance to embrace the fact that you’ll never be this pregnant again.

It’s like pregnancy is my way-less-depressing version of the Tim McGraw song, “Live Like you were Dyin'”.

“Live Like you were Pregnant” doesn’t have near as many rhymes though.

And while I won’t be going sky-divin’ or Rocky Mountain climbing or going 2.7 seconds on a bull named Foo Man Chu, I am doing my best to make every day special, memorable, to prepare myself for being a Mom, to prepare our house for the new arrival, to cherish my just-you-and-me-time with The Hubs.

These are precious days. And that’s all I gotta say about that.

Leave a Reply

