Am I ready to be done?

This is the question I’ve started getting recently.

Family and friends, strangers and passersby, all seem to want to know:

“Are you ready to be done yet?”

Um… yes and no.

Quite frankly, I have very few complaints about being pregnant. I’m assuming people are asking the question because I am more visibly pregnant and obviously much closer to “done” (stick a fork in me!). But despite feeling rather huge, I’m not uncomfortable. The belly is still compact enough that it isn’t knocking things over when I turn. I feel pretty good.

Also, the standard issue ailments of the 3rd trimester don’t appear to be plaguing me the way they plague many. One bout of heartburn, a puke-free pregnancy thus far, and pretty awesome sleep (despite some vivid dreams)… I’ve had it pretty good.

I’ve gotten the hang of it. I feel like I’ve pretty well mastered the whole thing. I’m even starting to enjoy dressing up the bump.

What I have not mastered, what I have no idea about, and what could quite possibly be the death of me, is the whole “being a parent” thing. Newborns? Diapers? Breast-feeding? Not really ready for that.

So no, I’m not ready to be done.*

*Nobody ever is, so I guess I’m not any different than any of the millions of women who have done this before me.

I cannot wait to meet our new contribution to the human race, however. What is she going to look like? When will I get my first smile out of her? What is The Hubs even going to do with this tiny human?

It’s too much to even contemplate. I can’t wait. It’s going to be the best. Better than the first time he felt her move, which, at the time, was the Best. Thing. Ever.

So yea.

I guess I am ready to be done.

 

2 thoughts on “Am I ready to be done?

  1. […] on the way, there are several conversations you have… over, and over, and over again. The “Are you ready to be done?” conversation. The “How are you feeling?” conversation. Many more that I can’t […]

  2. […] the end of our pregnancy with Hudson, we started getting asked “Are you ready to be done?” And of course, the answer at the time was “Yes and No.” I felt like pregnancy […]

Leave a Reply

