The Hubs’ first “almost-a-dad” Father’s Day

We aren’t officially mom and dad yet, so it felt weird to celebrate Mother’s Day and Father’s Day this year. But we are almost-mom-and-dad, so we couldn’t ignore these holidays entirely.

The Big Guy got me some Seahawks gear and cookbooks for Mother’s Day, plus a thoughtful card that made me cry. I got the Big Guy a Baby Bjorn for Father’s Day (trust me, he wanted one), plus a (in my opinion) thoughtful card that (I think) made him tear up a little bit. Even Steven.

It wasn’t a huge, all-about-you celebration, but it is hard to get around thinking about being parents on days like Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. And you know what?

I can’t wait!

I’ve mentioned it on several occasions, the Hubs is going to be some kind of awesome dad, especially to a baby girl. I get a little giddy and butterflies-y thinking about him with a tiny infant, with a toddler, with our daughter. It’s going to be no good for me, because I’ll be forced to be the disciplinarian. But it will be awesome for me too, because he’ll be so adorable with her, I won’t be capable of being mad at him when he makes me have to be the bad guy.

It’ll be vice versa with a boy most likely, so I think all will work out in the end.

A couple of weeks ago, we had a good friend and her daughter, Lil P, over for dinner.

Side story: Lil P is 18 months, and when she was first born, the Hubs and I went to Gymboree to get her some “Welcome to the World” fashion. The Hubs, entirely out of his element, grabbed just about anything that looked cute, including clothes for 4-year-olds. “What about this?” Imagine a 6’4″, 240 lb bearded monster of an uncomfortable man, pawing at the tiny baby leggings and asking his wife for advice on tiny-tot fashion. It didn’t quite draw a crowd, but it was hard to miss and certainly memorable.

We spent considerably more than we’d anticipated, but I imagine Lil P will look very cute when she gets big enough to wear some of the items Daddy Dub picked out for her. We also picked out some newborn attire that was too small, so Lil P’s mom had to come back to Gymboree to return some things. And the clerk remembered The Hubs. That’s how awesome the scene was. And how far-reaching our love for Lil P and her mom and dad extends.

So when Lil P and Mom came over for dinner, we were delighted to get some bonding time with one of our favorite toddlers, who immediately walked through the door talking and grabbing hands and dragging each of us to look at things and generally being adorable. Our house is presently a treasure-trove of things for a precocious 18-month-old to get into, including the jogging stroller I was given my Grandma Dub. And the Hubs was all too willing to take Lil P for a stroll around the block in it so that her mom and I could do some lady-talk. They came back from their walk, cheeks flushed, Lil P gabbing away, the Hubs obligingly keeping the stroller moving in whatever direction she wanted.

Watching my big bear of a husband be totally controlled by the whims of a tiny little human being was pretty adorable. This is what I have to look forward to, and on Father’s Day, I can’t help but dwell on it a little more.

We had Auntie Dub and Baby’s Dubs cousins over for dinner this weekend, and the Hubs started asking the crowd of cousins questions about the impending arrival of Baby Dub. “Are you excited to get a new cousin?” “What do you think she’ll look like?” “What color hair do you think she’ll have?” All were met with varying degrees of stony silence and awkward stares, until this zinger came out of my husband:

“Do you think we’re gonna be good parents?”

Our 6-year-old niece must have had an opinion on that, because she piped up:

“Oh yea. Everybody knows that.”

My 6-year-old niece believes in me. I can’t let her down now!

We have 17 days til our due date.

We are in the teens.

I have to be ready to go at any moment. It seems almost unreal that we could possibly be this close to Baby Dub’s arrival. But here we are on Father’s Day, not quite parents, but about as ready as we are gonna get. And Cousin A thinks we’re going to be good parents, so…

Bring it on.

3 thoughts on “The Hubs’ first “almost-a-dad” Father’s Day

  1. Nicole says:

    I love that, “Oh yeah…everybody knows that”! And of course, we do!

  2. Auntie Dub says:

    Haha!!! I hadn’t heard about that exchange between Zeb and the kids. Count on Anna to let you know exactly what she thinks. đŸ™‚ Love it!

  3. […] off Hudson at all these happy family occasions, the Hubs toting her around in his Baby Bjorn (the Father’s Day gift I gave him)… when I think of these plans and how we won’t get to experience them with […]

Leave a Reply

