We need a montage

The Hubs and I text each other throughout the day. It’s our way of staying connected, keeping each other going, taking care of each other even when we’re apart.

Here’s a little exchange from today:

ME: “Also all I want to do is be pregnant. I feel like arm wrestling Dr. M. If I win, I get to have a baby.”
(as in, sooner than the 6 months she advised we wait)

HUBS: “We need a montage.”

ME: “MONTAGE!! Even Rocky had a montage.”

Now, watch this video.

I’m sorry if there are dirty words in that song. Actually, no I’m not. I didn’t write it. And it is hilarious.

So this is what I think. Our life needs a montage.

I want a series of progress moments in quick succession and at the end I want to be holding our baby, maybe doing a victory dance at the top of those stairs that Rocky loved to train on so much.

The montage starts with the Hubs and I, me still packing on an extra 20 ell bees from pregnancy, coming home empty handed from the NICU.

Quick cut to the Hubs and I working out, maybe jogging in the brilliant Walla Walla sunshine, maybe giving each other a high-five as we race to the end of the driveway.

Quick cut to the Hubs and I looking very trim and enjoying a romantic evening out, maybe even a laugh or two.

Quick cut to me and the Hubs and a pee-stick that’s good news.

Quick cut to me (getting rounder with baby) and the Hubs on the couch, the Hubs feeling Baby’s first kicks.

Quick cut to me (bigger belly, even) and the Hubs at the doctor’s office watching the ultrasound.

Quick cut to me (huge belly, please) and the Hubs heading into the hospital.

Quick cut to Baby in our arms, screaming at the top of his or her lungs, and me all sweaty and tired and the Hubs all lovey-eyed and handsome. Best mental picture ever right now.

Quick cut to bringing Baby home.

MONTAGE!

Fade out…

“Always fade out in a montage…. if you fade out it seems like more time has passed in a montage…”

7 thoughts on “We need a montage

  1. shoehotline says:

    This would be awesome

  2. Momma sue says:

    Bring it on!

  3. Nelita says:

    Love the montage! Can’t wait!

  4. I love that you are writing! You are an amazing writer and these past three posts have all touched me so deeply.
    6 months will pass in a flash!

    • MommaDub says:

      Sierra – thank you for reading and for your encouragement. I can’t believe it has already been 10 weeks, it seems like the time has flown by and somehow also taken FOREVER to pass. I hope you’re right about the time passing in a flash – only a few more months to go! In our “Montage” we are at the “showing signs of improvement” phase, I would say…

  5. Yes! You do realize you are now obligated to make said montage for us, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

