Team Hudson’s Heroes

I am training for a half marathon.

Running has become my stress reliever in the past couple of years, and lately this Momma has some serious stress to relieve.

I broke my neck in 2007, and spent a week in a rehab hospital working to regain movement in my paralyzed right side. I was walking within a few days, and tried to bribe my doctor with my wine connections if he’d let me out of the hospital sooner than the 4 weeks I was scheduled for. He said “I don’t want your wine. You can send me a picture of you crossing the finish line of a marathon.”

So that’s what I did. Granted it was almost 5 years later, but I did it. I ran the Yakima River Canyon marathon with my sister and did it in my goal of under 5 hours. Booya, Dr. N.

It was a healthy goal to work towards, a cause to raise awareness for. I proved to myself that I could do it. Hopefully I inspired a few people to do more than they thought they were capable of. I had no interest in running before I broke my neck, but I told somebody I would do it… so I did it.

I sent Dr. N a picture of me crossing the finish line, sporting a homemade teeshirt emblazoned with the vertebra that were broken in our car accident.

After we lost Hudson, it became evident that I needed some healthy goals to work towards. I needed to heal my body, sure, but I also needed something where daily dedication provided positive results… something where tangible progress could be made. Thus the half-marathon goal. And of course some “little” races leading up to it.

On September 29, the Hubs and I will be running the Color Run in Portland. Along with several friends and members of the Dub and Shiz clan, we’re running for team Hudson’s Heroes.

We have shirts and everything. This time they aren’t homemade and they aren’t plastered with enigmatic letters and numbers… they’re plastered with our daughter’s footprints, her name and a motto I want our children to embrace:

My crazy amazing sister organized getting the teeshirts made, and ordered up 50-something, for family and friends who are running with us and even just for family and friends who like sweet fashion. We might need to have a second run printed, what with all the runners and Hudson fans in our lives. My fabulous cousin is even working on organizing a SoCal team.

In November when I run the Seattle Half Marathon, I’ll be running for Team Hudson’s Heroes then too.

Part of what got me hooked on running was the feeling of just shutting my mind off, focusing on putting one foot in front of the other. It doesn’t hurt that my schedule usually puts me on the road for a run right around the same time the sun is rising.

Beautiful Walla Walla sunrise + runner’s high + empty mind = a good start to the day.

Now when I run, I can’t help but think of Hudson. Despite my best efforts to empty my mind, if my mind does wander off the one-foot-in-front-of-the-other path, it tends to wander down the missing-my-baby-girl-like-crazy path. I’ll run the same route that the Hubs and I used to walk when I was trying desperately to induce labor, and I’ll think how badly I wish I could go back in time. I’ll struggle up a hill and think how much I wish I were pushing a stroller up it instead of just lugging my body weight. Or I’ll see that beautiful Walla Walla sunrise and think how every beautiful thing in this world pales in comparison to the person that me and the Hubs made.

But you know what? Beautiful Walla Walla sunrise + runner’s high + thoughts of my baby STILL add up to a good start to the day.

I love being on Team Hudson’s Heroes.

10 thoughts on “Team Hudson’s Heroes

  1. Beautiful! We love you.

  2. Carissa Vixie says:

    Your positivity is amazing. You are certainly one of the most impressive peeps I know (and I know some pretty darn impressive peeps)! James and I really wanted to come run with you guys but I already have other commitments that weekend. Booo. Just wanted you to know we love you guys and will be wishin we were runnin along side you!

    • MommaDub says:

      Carissa – Thank you for the encouragement and support. There will probably be future Hudson’s Heroes runs that I’d love for you and James to join us for. I should probably put in an order for kiddie sized Hudson’s Heroes tees so that Baby S can have one!

  3. Auntie Dub says:

    Can’t wait to run for our sweet girl. Wouldn’t miss it for the world!

    • MommaDub says:

      It was an amazing time, wasn’t it? I can’t wait to post about it and share the pictures and fun we had. Thank you for being a part of it – even though Cousin S-Bone didn’t “win”.

  4. […] my life a year ago. I had no idea I was embarking on this journey a year ago. I was training for a half marathon then, too. I was very concerned with a fitness regimen. I believe I was doing […]

  5. Katie says:

    I can’t wait to get my shirt. LOVE LOVE LOVE them! and love you!

  6. […] meaningful ways to memorialize Hudson’s life has become a constant part of my day-to-day. Running in Hudson’s honor, the necklace I wear daily with her name on it, the Red Sox sock that is hung from my rearview […]

  7. […] Today, this same support system has formed “Team Hudson’s Heroes“. […]

  8. […] believe I have mentioned on here once or twice that I was training for a half marathon. It was a positive goal to focus on while I’m “not allowed” to get knocked up […]

Leave a Reply

