The Sharp Knife of a Short Life

Today, I was emotional.

I started my morning writing about Hudson’s eight month birthday. I made it through that process without too many tears, but then I went upstairs for morning devotional and bawled my way through it. I cried in the shower.

I am so painfully aware that today is the 11th.

The 11th of each month is going to do this to me, I guess.

And then I headed off to work, and as I drove along the highway I saw a rainbow.

It was faint, stabbing through a cloud like it came straight down from Heaven, not arching like most rainbows I see.

And I immediately thought of the lyrics to The Band Perry’s “If I Die Young.”

Lord, make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors
Oh and… Life ain’t always what you think it oughta be, no…
Ain’t even grey but she buries her baby.
The sharp knife of a short life…. well, I’ve had just enough time.

Life ain’t always what you think it ought to be, that’s for sure. I’m not even grey (I do have a few stragglers), but I’ve outlived my own child. The short life of my daughter is the sharpest knife.

But she had enough time to make a lifetime’s worth of difference.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

