The 100 Day Countdown

On Saturday, I did the math and realized that The Bullet would be arriving in exactly 100 days.

Double digits to our baby boy!!

The beauty of a scheduled C-section is that you can plan, to the greatest extent possible with willful fetuses, when the baby will arrive. We’re due February 20. The hospital only does scheduled C-sections on Mondays and Thursdays. So my options are the 13th and the 17th. The day before Valentine’s day, or President’s Day.

What could be more auspicious than a strapping young man born on President’s Day?

So February 17 is the day, people. That’s 95 days from today. That’s 13 weeks from Monday.

That’s soon! And also, somehow, lifetimes away.

President’s Day. Our daughter was due on the 4th of July, and our son will be born (barring any surprises) on President’s Day. The Walter family is destined for political greatness.

Evidently the First Hundred Days is a thing. To quote Wikipedia, the First Hundred Days “…is used to measure the successes and accomplishments of a president during the time that their power and influence is at its greatest.”

I’m flipping that on its head and making the most of the Last Hundred Days of pregnancy. The Bullet’s power and influence will probably only continue to grow over the next 100 days and after, so I might as well harness the power of two and squeeze as many personal successes and accomplishments into the next just-under-100-days as I possibly can.

Unfinished business? Time to finish it.
Goals I’ve set? Blast them out of the water.
Career accomplishments, getting the financial house in order, girls’ weekends, babymoons? No time like the present.

I’m a productive member of society, but in less than 100 days, I have a feeling my personal productivity is going to be sacrificed to the god of adorable chunky babyness.

One major goal that I want to accomplish before The Bullet arrives is completing and self-publishing the Baby Dub Blog Book. I’m sharing that goal here because I want people to hold me accountable. It’s a gift for me, a gift to my family, a tribute to my daughter and a task I KNOW will fall by the wayside once Bullet arrives.

The next 95 days on the Baby Dub Blog could be pretty eventful. And the Next Hundred Days are going to be some of the best of my life.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The 100 Day Countdown

  1. Awwww! Can’t wait! I’m just a few days behind you at 103.

  2. Sarah says:

    Very exciting! Plus he’ll probably get most of his birthdays off school. πŸ˜‰ The blog book is a fabulous idea. I hope it’s a wonderful and somewhat healing experience, being able to spend so much time on Hudson and with your precious memories of her. I wish I had a book like that for my baby sister, who died the day she was born. The Bullet will love hearing his big sister’s story, and helping you think up great ways to continue to honor her!

  3. I share my birthday with the founder of our country, and I LOVED always getting a three-day weekend off. πŸ˜€

    So excited for you! Go, Bullet, go! πŸ™‚

  4. […] A baby room to finish up. A house to clean. A bag to pack. A car seat to install. A book to publish. […]

Leave a Reply

