Hiccups

This is a new phenomenon, folks. From time to time, I’ll notice that Bullet has a wicked case of the hiccups.

It’s not a new phenomenon as far as the pregnancies of the masses are concerned, but this is new for me. Hudson never had the hiccups – or if she did have them, it was early and before I could really tell what was going on in there.

Bullet, on the other hand, gets them at least a few times a week. And they are hilarious.

You can tell he’s not a fan of the hiccups. Rhythmic nudges in my belly signal that the bout has begun. Then Bullet will adjust his position, trying to allay himself of the discomfort. There is a break in the rhythm, like maybe he’s beaten them. He settles down. Then BAM. Hiccup.

I wonder if I can scare the hiccups out of him, but how are you supposed to scare a baby en utero? An enthusiastic “BOO!” doesn’t seem to do the trick, I feel weird about shoving at him, and there isn’t much I can introduce to his environment in the way of a surprise. Maybe I can jump in the air?

I should not be so amused by what is clearly a discomfort for my unborn son, but I just love any little development that gives me a sneak peek at his personality. He is clearly a man who enjoys his comforts and is irritated by interruptions to his peace and quiet. He takes after his father in this regard.

This pregnancy has been so similar to my pregnancy with Hudson that I’ve been really latching on to any differences I can identify. The disdain for cheese early on. The more aggressive movements (especially directed at my internal organs). And now, the hiccups.

As we enter the realm of the “single digits to Bullet” countdown, I’m certainly not taking for granted these bonding moments with my son. But I really can’t wait to see his facial expression the first time he’s fighting a case of the hiccups outside of me.

I’ll try to scare the hiccups out of him then.

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Hiccups

  1. Cecilie says:

    I’ve had the same with our little guy – and it’s been magical. Can’t remember having had any hiccups first time around so in a strange way, hiccups these days give me such comfort and hope. Feel guilty for taking pleasure in something that makes him uncomfortable but I’ll do my best to make it up to him when he makes his grand appearance in under a month πŸ™‚

    Wish you all the best of luck…have been counting down with you and I’ll be sending you lots of good vibes on the big day πŸ™‚

  2. Michelle says:

    So excited for you! Neither boys had hiccups….but they sound hilarious.

  3. I can definitely say that it IS possible to startle a baby en utero, lol. I was about five months along or so, and J had been telling a story, when he came to the dramatic part and shouted — and Michael FREAKED. OUT. lol. It was like he literally jumped back inside me. Of course, I started laughing, and when I told J, he laughed too, and he continued the story in a quieter voice. πŸ˜‰

    I think Michael had hiccups a few times, but I never really clued in to what they were until well after the fact. πŸ˜›

  4. Carrie says:

    How cute is that!!! I love it. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see pictures of the Bullet!

  5. Sarah says:

    My dad slammed the hood on our car when we were all sitting in it one day when Mom was very pregnant with my little brother, and my Mom about went through the roof of the car – not because of the noise, but because said little brother apparently damn near popped out at that moment, he jumped so big because of the crash of noise!

  6. Damie says:

    I am soooo beyond excited for you guys and your soon-to-be-in-the-outer-world Bullet! Lots of love and well wishes being sent your way.

  7. I hate the hiccups. Mine usually gets them when I’m trying to sleep.

Leave a Reply

